The Board of County Commissioners (BoCC) shall appoint a Planning Commission. The Planning Commission is established by resolution of the BoCC pursuant to C.R.S. §30-28-103 and C.R.S. §30-28-104 . The Planning Commission reviews planning petitions and makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners on land use requests and prepares a master plan for unincorporated areas of the county.

For more information, please see the Planning Commission Bylaws.


Meetings are held on the first and third Thursday of the month at 9:00 a.m. at the Regional Development Center, in the second floor hearing room, located 2880 International Circle, Colorado Springs, CO, 80910. The meetings shall be noticed and open to the public.

Members and Length of Terms

The Planning Commission shall consist of no less than three (3) and no more than nine (9) regular members and up to five (5) associate members. Regular members are appointed for three (3) years and may serve two (2) consecutive terms. Associate members are appointed for a one (1) year term and may serve two (2) consecutive terms. Members wishing to serve more than two (2) terms may apply to serve additional terms in accordance with Board of County Commissioners rules and procedures.

For current volunteer openings or for further information, please contact the Boards and Commissions Administrator at 719-520-6555.

Regular Members

Brian Risley – Chair- Second term expires May 31, 2023

Thomas Bailey – Vice Chair- Second term expires April 19, 2025

Sara Brittain Jack– Second term expires May 1, 2025

Jay Carlson– First term expires May 31, 2023

Becky Fuller– Second term expires April 19, 2025

Tim Trowbridge– Second term expires August 1, 2025

Eric Moraes– First term expires July 15, 2024

Joshua Patterson– First term expires June 7, 2025

Associate Members

Brandy Merriam– Second term expires August 2, 2023

Bryce Schuettpelz– Second term expires July 12, 2023

Christopher Whitney– Second term expires November 16, 2023

To view documents from past Planning Commission meetings, please visit EDARP or email your request to plnweb@elpasoco.com.